Vegetarians Beware

This weekend was the weekend of the back yard.  On Sunday we headed out and about and bought a Gazebo and finally a BBQ.  Somebody wanted 6 burners?  Plus did anyone mention a side-burner?  This thing can cook some serious meat…because as the name suggests it is a Beefmaster.  Needless to say that after erecting it on Sunday afternoon…oh what a joy that was (some cussing involved) it has since been used for 3 meals, including a Sunday night feast with friends.  (if we had bacon in the fridge on Monday morning…it was a public holiday here…it would have been 4.  Oversight on my part).

Back to running, I was pining for my Dry Creek trails yesterday so set off in the late afternoon out on Dry Creek West, then returned and ran Dry Creek East to Nelson Rd before returning home.  All up 9.7km, trail thirst quenched and legs feeling tired after averaging 6min/k (even after a 7:15 first k).

Backing up yesterdays run, I set off this morning and was running on tired legs, the batteries in my mp3 player died and I have been able to charge them yet, so I took off with my sony radio…well what a farce.  The headphone jack is stuffed and will only allow one channel, while the station kept jumping from JJJ to MMM to static and back without me touching the dial…it was DRIVING ME CRAZY!  Completed the 9.2k at an average of 7min/k, including a little walk halfway when an overwhelming feeling started rising in my chest? weird? it wasn’t like I was pushing hard or eaten anything etc…

The next two days I will be at a hotel in Glenelg (the bay/beach) at a training seminar, so might be able to fit in a run down there along the foreshore afterward on Thursday…Bella has puppy pre-school tomorrow evening…hopefully she learns to stop biting us.

6 Comments

Filed under Dry Creek, Training Run

6 responses to “Vegetarians Beware

  1. I am so jealous about the BIG BBQ!! MMMMMM!

  2. 2P

    Why do I have visions of Tim The Toolman when reading about the Beefmaster? 🙂

  3. The beefmaster 2000? Nice work. I remember assembling ours, it was very nearly the end of a relationship- but also the start of a beautiful relationship with charcoal grilled chicken wings.

  4. You realise, of course, that the BBQ is a MAN THING (flames, danger…), and that TBH is not allowed near it. And that to justify all 6 burners, you must have at least 2-3 meals on it each week. :p

  5. plu

    “Completed the 9.2k at an average of 7min/k, including a little walk halfway when an overwhelming feeling started rising in my chest? weird? it wasn’t like I was pushing hard or eaten anything etc…”

    Was you just cresting a hill? Is it like indigestion? If you have a heartrate monitor you would probably see a sudden spike in the reading. I sometime experience such sensations “after” an effort, after a sugar hit or it just happens for no reason at all.

    cheers PLu

Leave a Reply

