Marathon Training Plan

 Here is my planned weekend running Schedule until the Marathon (finally).June 3rd – 23km LSD

June 10th – 25km LSD

June 17th – 28km LSD

June 24th – 25km Derby Dash

July 1st – 10km Sri Chinmoy title defence

July 8th – 30km LSD

July 15th – 32km LSD

July 22nd – 30km River Run

July 29th – 32+km LSD

August 5th – 10km Sri Chinmoy

August 12th – 25km LSD

August 19th – 15km LSD

August 26th – 42.2km ADELAIDE MARATHON

There is a lot of kilometres there…336km to be exact, but I am putting that up there with the knowledge that in reality I will be listening to my body and might miss 2 of those LSDs.  July definitely is the critical month and if I can only do 2x 32+km runs and the 30km River run then I will be happy with my preparation.  OK looking at that table now scares me.  I have left off 3x 8k races, mainly because I feel I need to use the time for a long run and I don’t really want to pay the entrance fees.

So the first LSD on the list will be rescheduled for tomorrow from Sunday.  The plan is to run the 21km loop I ran in April and throw in an extra 2k bit at the end…I will take my fuelbelt and new camera on the run and hopefully publish a nice graphical report…if it is not too dark for photos.  (I am glad I bought a water proof camera because I have a feeling it is still going to be raining tomorrow morning.)

8 Comments

Filed under Non-Running

8 responses to “Marathon Training Plan

  1. plu

    HI Simon,

    Not a lot of gradual build up in that though have you thought about a light week each 4 weeks or are the ones you have put in just chance. Could the easy week be the 29 July instead of a week later. This means you don’t have 4 big weeks.

    There is a bit of theory about a light week after 3 weeks of bulidling long runs. So perhaps

    June 10th – 25km LSD

    June 17th – 28km LSD

    June 24th – 30km Derby Dash

    July 1st – 10km Sri Chinmoy title defence

    July 8th – 26km LSD

    July 15th -28km LSD

    July 22nd – 30km River Run

    July 29th – 21+km LSD

    August 5th – 10km Sri Chinmoy and a long second run 15-18 km

    August 12th – 25km LSD

    August 19th – 15km LSD

    Any way – just some thoughts from somone who could not do what you are doing. Well done.

    cheers PLu

  2. ajh

    OMG, not another person actually planning their marathon. I’m definitely starting to worry about my own prep.

  3. rachel49

    My comments are based on the Runners World training plan because this is what I’d like to follow if I was doing a marathon plan. Do you feel comfortable having a long run only up to 32km and I agree with Plu about having a few more lighter weeks after a build up. Also is your taper too long?
    Of course I have no experience just wanted to add in my two bobs worth!

  4. Looks like it is going to be a busy summer for you! Good luck!

  5. wow – looks scary when you write it down like that! I am looking forward to just getting a nice surprise each month when my program comes in my inbox 🙂

  6. To add to what Plu has said, I’d be going with a shorter long run every second week…

    25k, 18k, 25k race + 3k warm-up, 10k, 30k, 23k, 30k race +3k warm-up, 20k, 36k (don’t race the 10k), 20k, 14k.

  7. plu

    I should qualify my comments a bit. I am not one for running big distances 30+ km.

    I would rather have a few high 20-30km runs and not risk injury. I am sure that is why I don’t get down to 3:30 marathon pace which I should (or should have) been able to do.

    cheers Plu

  8. I am so jealous. Next year we can plan a few long runs together??

Leave a Reply

