No use denying it

OK, I admit it.  I have been lying to myself.  I am in a rut…or as many would say, “I have  a big case of the blahs”.  There was no running on Monday, no running on Tuesday, but I did manage to sneak out of bed early on Wednesday and squeeze in a 10k morning run.  All that the morning run accomplished was to abate the feeling as Ellie has been having that I was slowly losing grip of the title “Runner” and becoming more and more a “couch potato”.

This morning, boy was I not ready to get up and go for a run.  Unfortunately for me, when my alarm went off at 5:30am and my brain said “nope, not getting up” Mother Nature took things into her own hands and forced the issue.  Once up, I gave up fighting, donned some running clothes and headed out the door.  I struggled and shuffled out 10k, boy I hope Sunday’s LSD is a lot easier.

6 Comments

Filed under Dry Creek, Training Run

6 responses to “No use denying it

  1. ah you are definitely a runner with a case of the blahs – rather than a couch potato with running aspirations 🙂

    you’ll get back in to it – I am enjoying following your marathon training – perhaps its like vicariously running myself 🙂

    good luck!

  2. Don’t feel guilty about taking a (short) break – you’ll come back stronger for it.

    You might have a mild cold/virus too, and your body is telling you to rest. Listen to it!

    You’ll be back…

  3. Hang in there Simlin. This WILL pass, and it’ll pass a lot more quickly if you run through it 🙂

  4. This is good. My 6-pack bet that Rachel will finish the year as the best runner in the family could be safe.

  5. ajh

    Just keep pluggin, and as was said above listen to your body, could be a sign you were over-doing it a bit.

  6. If it makes you feel any better, I haven’t “ran” in over 2 weeks.. dang knee. Don’t worry… you’ll get back into the swing of things. I think this kind of stuff happens to most runners… every season!

Leave a Reply

