Shiney Red Canoes.

PhotobucketAs another new pair of canoes finds their way into my collection I say goodbye to an old pair.  The old pair, now relegated to dog walking and squash playing  was a faithful pair and was with me right through my 2hr breaking half marathon in Sydney in ’07.  Last night they saw me through a solid hour of squash playing, by saying solid I mean, I played well for the first half hour taking the first game 2 sets to 1.  After that I noticed I was getting tired, missing easy balls etc…obviously my fitness isn’t where it used to be.  I lost the next 3 sets.

This morning I got up early, before my legs had time to protest following last nights squash antics, and went out for a short run in my new canoes.  Another 6k.  I think i am going to target a February 5k race for my first run for the year.  My 5k PB is rather soft, so I should have no trouble setting a new one and starting the year with a boost of confidence.

Ewen, I am not going to dwell on the past (last month) but if you want to check out my 2007 totals, they can be found from the history page.  I am in the process of putting together some charts to evaluate my training schedule for the marathon, ie weekly totals, length of runs, especially number of long runs leading up to the main event.

3 Comments

Filed under Dry Creek, Training Run

3 responses to “Shiney Red Canoes.

  1. Oooh shiny……
    Well done taking 2008 by the scruff of the neck and shaking it!

  2. I read somewhere that you shouldn’t play squash in running shoes. They are built for running forwards, and with the sudden stopping you are more likely to do an ankle.

    I don’t play squash anymore, but I always used cross trainers.

    Anyway, happy new year!

    Cheers,
    Ben

  3. Lulu

    Glad to see you are back running and blogging. It can be really hard to maintain motivation once you achieve a major goal, like your first marathon.

    I hope 2008 is really good for you!

Leave a Reply

