CR 5km Challenge – February 2009

Race CR 5k Challange (Uni Loop) 1-11-2008

With yet another 40+ Degree day forecast I was not expecting big things from the 5km Challenge today. Numbers were down due to the heat wave but we were not alone out on the ovals with 3 football clubs, numerous smaller groups and a softball team all out for pre-season training.

One way to make yourself feel completely inadequate as a runner is to run a 5k around 100 odd fully fit, fully ripped professional footballers. Oh, except when Choco had his shirt off.  That was just wrong.

Race CR 5k Challange (Uni Loop) 7-02-2009, Pace I started my 5km at 7:05am but after the first kilometer, when I got a feel for the conditions and my condition (without a pacer) I revised my target time from 25min to 26min. I tried to not let the heat get to me, but with the sweat just pouring off it was hard not too.  I was able to maintain a reasonably steady pace to finish in 26:06.

Better luck next time, some would say, for me I am looking forward to the weather cooling down and my times coming down…I expect my PB page to be full of 2009 dates by the end of the year.

1 Comment

Filed under Race Report

One response to “CR 5km Challenge – February 2009

  1. I’ve decided anything over 30C adds at least a minute to 5k times. Your last km was strong. I’m still leaning towards Rachel in the challenge though.

Leave a Reply

